Why won’t Task Scheduler run my .bat file?

12 Sep

I had a .bat file that ran the SQL Azure Migration Wizard Batch Backup utility. When I double clicked or ran the.bat in a command window it worked. When I scheduled the task to run the Task Scheduler reported the task completed, but it clearly had not run. What was going on?

It turns out that in the Task Actions dialog I had set ‘Program/script’ to (not unsurprisingly) point to the script:

cmd /c c:\SqlAzureBackup\BackupDatabase.bat

When really what I needed was:

Program/script: cmd
Add arguments: /c BackupDatabase.bat
Start in: c:\SqlAzureBackup\

= solved.

One Response to “Why won’t Task Scheduler run my .bat file?”

  1. thomasharrisaz February 25, 2012 at 8:09 pm #

    Thanks this helped a lot. Tom

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

